The Struggle to Love Me

As women, we fight daily with our looks and we’d be lying if we said that we didn’t. We all have our “flaws” that we wish could be a quick and easy change. But in my opinion, I believe that the pressures of society makes us look down on our bodies, looks and our personalities. It is completely unnecessary.

What are we teaching the little girls all around us when we say things like, ‘Wow, I wish I had bigger boobs, the perfect booty and a flat tummy.’ ? We are teaching them to not be confident in their bodies, and from such young and impressionable age. We are teaching them to never be content and happy with what they look like. We are teaching them to slowly hate their bodies.

@demilked.com
@demilked.com

It is disheartening that we are teaching our daughters, little sisters and young girls in general, to constantly be unhappy with the way their body looks. We should be teaching them to love themselves so they can love others, not compare their looks with the photo shopped models on magazines, commercials and billboards.

Let me tell you, looks are not everything! But being confident… Being confident in who you are and your looks is so SO important. Society is terrible. It plays a large role in our lives whether we want it to or not.

Society tells us what our bodies should look like, how you should dress, what your hair should look like this week and different the next. People believe it. This is why there is so little confidence in our looks, why so many teen girls and women are unhappy. We are constantly changing everything about us. We need to embrace the way we look and love ourselves more than anything. But, when is it enough? When will we ever get to that ‘perfect size’ ‘perfect body’  perfect whatever?

The hard truth is, we won’t. We are the only ones that can change our bodies and what we think of ourselves. But there comes a time when we need to learn to be perfectly and completely happy with the way God made us.  We are not still long enough to realize our beauty and revel in it. This needs to stop.

We need to teach the young girls around us how beautiful our bodies are because we can do so much, we can help create life and hold that life for 9 months. This is God’s design for us and that blows my mind everyday honestly. We need to love ourselves. Our creator thinks we are beautiful as we are, thats why each and everyone of us looks different! We are like snowflakes. Not one the same, maybe similar but never the same.

@pcwallart.com
@pcwallart.com

This is something very close to my heart. I have always had body image issues. It is a fight everyday to wake up and say, “ Today, I choose to love myself so I can love others.” It is SO hard. But overtime, I’ve noticed I am slowly starting to gain confidence in my looks. Some days are better than others, but growth is growth. It is so worth it because I want to love me for me. I want to be the best Hailey I can be because that is what God wants me to do. I want to live for Him and I can’t do that if I am constantly hating the way my body looks. So my question for you is, what is one way you can improve the way you view yourself? How can we as women come along side each other and help each other improve our confidence in our bodies?

Hailey Xxx

3 thoughts on “The Struggle to Love Me

Comments are closed.